Creating and Managing Users

Admins can create, manage, block, and delete Mambu Process Orchestrator (MPO) users.

Creating users

There are two types of users with different capabilities:

  • Regular users can create, edit and share integrations. We recommend this permission level for most users.
  • Admins can also manage users and change ownership for assets such as processes or folders.

We generally recommend having at least two admins, in case one is unavailable.

Creating users using the UI

To create new users:

  1. Log in with ​an admin​ account.
  2. Go to ​the Users & Groups tab​.
  3. Click ​Create​ > ​User​.
  4. Enter the email address of the user you wish to invite, then click ​OK​.
  5. The user will receive an email asking to accept the invitation and set up credentials. Invitations are valid for 24 hours.

Add new users to MPO

Invite users to MPO by email

Creating users with the API

For general information on the MPO API including endpoints and authentication, see API Basics.

To create new users using API, issue a request to the following endpoint:

https://TENANT_NAME.mpo.mambu.com/api/2/json/{apiLogin}/{gmtUnixTime}/{signature}

Include a JSON-formatted request body like this:

{
"ops": [
  {
    "type": "create",
    "obj": "invite",
    "login": {{USER_EMAIL}},   
  }
]
}

Adding and removing admin permissions

Once users have accepted an invitation, an existing admin can assign them the admin role. Admins are listed in a separate group and are able to invite new users to the company, block, delete or give other regular users admin role.

From the Users & Groups tab:

  1. Expand the Groups menu and select the Admins group.
  2. Click Add user to group.
  3. Enter the user whom you wish to provide the admin role. Only regular users who have accepted the invitation and confirmed their account may be selected.

Managing MPO users

To remove the admin role:

  1. Log in with an admin account.
  2. Go to the Users & Groups tab.
  3. Go to the Admins panel.
  4. Select the desired user and click on the Bin icon to remove their admin role.

Blocking and deleting users

Admins may block and delete other users. When a user is blocked or deleted, their account access is deactivated, and they are immediately logged out.

When a user is blocked, they no longer have access to the platform until their account is reactivated. When a user is deleted, their account is permanently removed.

  1. Log in with an admin account.
  2. Go to the Users & Groups tab.
  3. Go to the Users panel.
  4. Select your user and click on the Block button to deactivate the user or click on the Bin icon to delete them.

To reactivate a blocked account, perform steps 1 through 3, then click on the Activate button

Creating groups

Groups allow you to share processes with users and to easily assign the same level of access rights. For example, you can create an Admins group.

To create a group:

  1. Log in with an admin account.
  2. Go to the Users & Groups tab.
  3. Click ​Create​ > ​Group​.
  4. Enter the name of the group.